Return to Home Page
A classic Georgian house, built in 1740, the home was bought by Horatio Middleton in 1750 who opened a tavern in the building. He started running a ferry between Annapolis and Rock Hall, and in keeping with the local laws at that time, he was obligated to provide overnight lodging for ferry passengers so he expanded the tavern to an inn. After Middleton's death his wife, and later his son ran the tavern and inn. Over the decades (and centuries) the building has had many different owners and uses. The staff have nicknamed their ghost "Roland," though no one knows his true identity. The most frequent signs of his presence are the tossing of plates or glasses off shelves, moving tables and chairs, and the smell of cigar smoke though they are not allowed in the building. A shadowy form has been seen flitting across the dining room and once a table with dirty dishes on it waiting to be cleared was toppled over. Some people have seen an apparition of a man in Patriot era clothing looking out over the harbor. In the mid-80's the tavern was renovated and expanded to create an Oyster Bar and Tavern. Their specialty is regional seafood, and there is a piano bar on the weekends. Middleton Tavern, 2 Market Space, Annapolis. Phone: 410-263-3323.
12 miles from Annapolis, Kent Manor Inn is the 1820 original "big house" of the plantation by Thompson Creek. Alexander Thompson was the owner of the plantation, and his ghost is one of the spirits that haunt the current Inn. His master bedroom is now Room 209 and it seems that he still visits now and then. There is sometimes the distinct aroma of tobacco smoke, lights go on and off, and the TV also goes off and turns on by itself. The third floor also has a lingering spirit. One of the maids who was new had not heard any of the ghost stories opened the door to a presumably empty Room 303 to see the figure of a man in farmer's clothes sitting on the bed. The doors to rooms on that floor are locked at night by staff if unoccupied, but often some of the doors would be unlocked when the innkeeper checked them. The staff swore they were locked and double checked by them when they were up there. After a while, this was chalked up to ghostly intervention as there didn't seem to be another explanation. One of the innkeepers who purchased the Inn in 1998 would sometimes, when leaving in her car for the night, see lights on in rooms that she knew she had gone into and turned all the lights out. Room 305, the Presidential Suite, was a particular room where this would occur. This elegant waterfront hotel has 24 rooms and suites. The Brightsworth Room is a formal dining room but there is also a newly renovated Generations restaurant which is more casual. No pets are allowed. children under 18 are free if staying in the same room as their parents. The Kent Manor Inn is at 500 Kent Manor Dr., Stevensville, MD phone: 800-820-4511
Not far south of Washington DC, in a town now called Clinton stands a house that Mary Surratt built as a boarding house. When money got tight she leased it to John Lloyd who ran it as a boarding house and tavern. Mary's son John Surratt would often hang out there with his friends, one of whom was an actor named John Wilkes Booth. As we all know from history, they conspired to kill President Lincoln, and after the assassination Booth's guns and ammunition were found hidden in the Surratt's house. Mary Surratt was hung as a conspirator in the assassination, though her role has never been definitively proven and some think she was punished unfairly. After a long period of being vacant, the house was bought and lived in as a two-family in the 1940's. Since that time the spirit of Mary has been seen on the staircase from the first to second floor and also on the front porch. Apparitions of men in period clothing have been seen on the back stairs, and men's voices in excited conversation have been heard. The Surratt House is now open as a museum from mid-January to mid-December. It is located at: 9110 Brandywine Road, Clinton, MD Phone: 301-868-1121.301868-121
Just a Note regarding Snow Hill Inn on Market Street in Snow Hill MD - I have seen this as a haunted site in several ghost books. The Inn was sold in 2004, and seems to have become a private residence. It was on the market again in late 2013 and was sold in January 2014. Again, it seems to be a private residence so even if you see it on lists of haunted places, please respect the owners' privacy.